Synopsis: Has it become irrelevant?

“Do you even read the Synopsis of a book before you buy or read it, or do you just read the book without worrying whether it’s good or not?”
My best friend asked me this and for a minute I actually had to think about it. While I was thinking about it, he continued to say that while there are quotes such as “Readers live a thousand lives”, he prefers living the one he has. Don’t get me wrong, he is an avid reader but he chooses to read only books with an interesting synopsis.
What he said made so much sense and it actually got me questioning my methods in choosing whether I’ll read a book or not. To be honest, I’m a sucker for books with beautiful covers and I generally read anything recommended. If it is recommended then it must be good right? Not always…
While it is amazing to see that there are so many avid readers and that there are so many people with Bookstagrams there could also be a downside. If all we do is read the books everyone else recommends then how will we ever develop our taste?
It’s like music, some love rock, others pop and a smaller group enjoy classical and jazz music. I listen to most music, I enjoy exploring different genres and learning more about it as I go. But I do think it is important to focus on developing your own style and taste. We don’t want to live like sheep, following each and every recommendation thrown our way. It’s a matter of being curious.
“Why do you think this is a book I should read?” – Question recommendations
I’m game for reading everything but as we grow older and we pursue our passions we might not always have the time to read. And because of this, it is important to make time for only the books you truly want to read. However, you could always keep a maybe pile close by just in case…
Younger kids should be encouraged to read as much as possible, read anything and everything. Learn new things daily, explore magical worlds where the impossible seems like the norm. Allow yourself to dream of worlds you never knew existed. As you grow older and your leisure time becomes less, start looking for reads you know you’ll enjoy.
Take the time to read the synopsis, learn about the author and even check out a review or two. Authors spend a lot of time in front of their screens to provide you with an escape to another world or dimension. The least we can do is respect them enough to truly appreciate their work. If you don’t like stories with cliché relationships then don’t buy a romance book, even if it came recommended. At the end of the day, you’re wasting your time and disrespecting the work of the author.
I love reading, I love dreaming but I also love appreciating the works I am presented with. Maybe I feel this way because I have limited time to read nowadays or maybe I feel a little philosophical… I don’t know.
All I do know is that books are beautiful gifts that everyone should have access to, but they deserve to be appreciated and loved. I’ve read hundreds of books in my life and while there are some I remember fondly to this day, there are others I hardly even recognize. I guess I’m saying that I just want to read books that make me smile whenever I think back to it.
I have a feeling you might disagree with me, and I would love to hear your take on this. Write me a message below or comment on my Instagram post.
Let’s discuss this like the book friends we are ❤
Leave a Reply

